my intro to mini quilt swaps

Last year I did a Dr. Who swap that turned out to be my first mini quilt swap.

Making a quilt wasn’t required for this swap but I made one for my person since she said she never had a quilt before, and my partner (a different person) made one for me.

The design I chose was something way out of my comfort zone but learned a lot in the process. I’ve been taking graphic design class, so I started using Adobe Illustrator to lay out all my quilts before buying fabrics.

IMG_3512

It was really useful for making patterns for my appliqués. (The designs don’t make a lot of sense if you don’t watch the show…) I just interfaced (yeah, learned that QUICK) and did a zigzag stitch around the edges.

And here it is all together with Tardis backing/binding. The borders and white squares are Kona Cotton.

IMG_4959-0

Here’s the one I got.

IMG_3789

I really like the pattern my partner used for mine and have downloaded the free pattern so I can make it sometime.

This project was my return to quilting and I’ve hit the ground running since with swaps and inspiration, so much more to come on this front!

Leave a Reply

