sewing machine cover

For years I dreamed about a sewing machine cover. I bought the fabric to make one over Easter weekend 2013. And it sat on my shelf for a long time before my summer craft room reorganization brought it back to my attention.

When I’d think about making the cover, I would research different sewing patterns and then draw my ideal cover out, trying to figure out a design. I wanted a pocket. I wanted it to go around the cords so I wouldn’t have to unplug. I wanted it to slope with my machine. None of the patterns had what I was looking for.

So I would decide it was too hard and would put it aside again.

Then a revelation came to me, as it often does with sewing. Nothing makes sense until it makes total sense. So I realized I could trace my machine, and it wasn’t that hard after all (just two side pieces and a middle piece) and I had myself a reversible sewing machine cover start in finish in less than a day. I attribute the cat bed construction process with helping me realize how to put the cover together.

Here is an in-progress shot of the lining construction, making sure it would fit.

IMG_2763

And here’s the finished cover. I love it.

IMG_2767

I didn’t quite come together how I thought it would when I drew it up in 2013, but you know what? It’s functional, colorful, fun, and most importantly, complete! I’ve been trying to get over my concerns about things not turning out by just going start to finish and getting things done. That is certainly a confidence booster, when things turn out and they weren’t as hard as you made them out to be. (I’ve been enjoying my cover since September… Just found this post in draft!)

I had picked out a different fabric for the lining, but I decided to go with the same Wildfield fabric I used for the reverse side of my sewing machine mat. I bought several yards and love it, but still have plenty leftover. And when I’m feeling super matchy, I can have a matching mat and cover. (The original lining for the cover found a place as a lining for the bag I made to take to Italy.)

Anyway, what have you been thinking about making for way too long? Or have you completed some long awaited projects lately? If you haven’t made yourself a sewing machine cover, I definitely recommend just doing it!

One thought on “sewing machine cover

Leave a Reply

