reenergizing refashions

I’m still not where I want to be with sewing, but graduation at my school was this weekend so I’m hoping I’ll be able to work less and ramp up the crafting in the next couple weeks (after I take a mini-vacation to visit my brother for his college graduation that is). To get a jump start on my sewing I took a little bit of time to rework a refashion. I made these hot pink and brass zipper jeans almost exactly a year ago. I wish I would have taken a before picture when they were bootcut.

zipperjeans01A

I really liked the pink zipper, but found myself never wearing them. I don’t have a lot that goes with hot pink besides black or white, and my tendency to always cross my legs under me when sitting means having a zipper pressing into my ankle. For me, the zipper jeans trend is over anyway so I refashioned the refashion. I sewed the zippers in pretty well, so it took a lot of seam ripping, but after the zippers were out I just had to sew up the opening where they were. Voila! New skinny jeans, which fit into my wardrobe much better than the hot pink zippered ones. Plus I have two cool zippers to use for another project.

skinnyjeanscollage

My favorite part is that these jeans are thicker than many of the “jeggings” out there since they were made from regular jeans with just a little stretch. Have you ever tried to skinny out some regular jeans?

3 thoughts on “reenergizing refashions

  1. Kudos on the seam ripping! That is always a challenge for me – the patience it requires. Ah… I’ve never been able to pull off skinny jeans but great idea for refashioning the refashion! Love the color of the zippers and can’t wait to see what you do with them.

Leave a Reply

