hats

My blog has been sadly neglected in November, and it wasn’t going very strong in the last part of October either. The crafting hasn’t ceased but a lot of computer time at work and cold temps have drawn me towards the knitting needles and crochet hooks instead of the blog. Also, my desktop is stationed upstairs away from the action of the living room and the kitchen. Maybe if I get a new laptop sometime soon…

Btw, the new-ish job I started in August is going swimmingly. It takes a lot of mental energy, but it’s a nice change from previous jobs I had where I felt like there was too much downtime and not enough demand for my services. No problem with downtime being the sole marketing person for a large community college!

But anywho, you’re here for the projects right? I’ve made two hats that I really like lately.

First up, this blue beauty. It’s a knit Bulky Mock Cable Hat (Ravelry link). Knit cables, but no cable needle required!

tealcablehat01A

I’d bought a single skein of Charisma in electric blue at Michaels last year and since I’ve been whittling away at my stash I needed to find a project for it. This hat was perfect.

tealcablehat02A

Not bad for faux cables, eh? I bought bamboo size 13 dpn to make it and I’m definitely a fan.

tealcablehat03A

The cables really shrink together when it’s not on a head. This hat is so soft and I’m looking forward to finding hat-wearing occasions for it.

The second hat is quite different from the first. It’s a shells and cables crocheted hat.

grayhat01AI used a skein of Vanna’s Choice in gray frogged from the failed array cowl I knit last winter.

grayhat02A

Close up on the shells. This hat is much stiffer than the first due to the yarn and the smaller hook.

grayhat03A

I like the texture of both hats, even though the faux cables and the fpdc cable are completely different. They both worked up quickly.

Making things with yarn is one of my favorite cold weather hobbies. I’ve got a number of crochet projects to catch up so hopefully I’ll get to those soon.

2 thoughts on “hats

  1. They both look great!

    Glad you’re settling into your job well, we’re here ready whenever you have time for us, it’s hard work settling into a new job AND a new home!!

  2. daraweyna says:

    Love the hats. I’m in the same boat…more time creating and less time to blog about it. I’ll never figure out how other bloggers manage to do both. I always love to see what you are making.

Leave a Reply

