birthday totes, bibs, and aprons

I finished my bag for the secret tote swap, but since today is the much celebrated and beloved holiday of Columbus Day the post office is closed. I think post office and bank workers must be Columbus’s biggest fans. But since I’ve not sent my latest tote out yet, I have some other totes for you today.

I made some more birthday totes in the last few weeks. This one was for my mom’s friend Sandy. She likes bright happy colors, and I’d been saving this shirt to make a bag. It was a thrift store find of course.

sandyshirttote01

I paired the shirt with the rest of the pink sheet (that has lasted for YEARS since I first got back into sewing) and turned it into a fun beachy tote.

sandyshirttoteA

I used the sheet for the lining, straps, and part of the front since there wasn’t a whole lot of shirt to go around. I did use a little bit of the shirt on the inside pocket. Some triple topstitching finished off the front.

sandyshirttote06A

I meant to finish the bag before I went to Pennsylvania, but ended up mailing later because it wasn’t done in time. I made the card during a cardmaking blitz that I hope to blog about soon.

My next tote was for my friend Christine. I’m still stashbusting fabric, so I used a checked red and white fabric from Kathy’s mom’s stash that I thought suited her.

I knew I wanted to make a large bag because she’s a crocheter and has been working on afghans lately. I had a pillowcase in the stash that was about the width that I wanted to make the bag so I used it as the lining. No sewing up the sides and bottom, just insert the pillowcase into the outer bag!

christinecheckedtote01A

I like the striped on the edge and will be saving them for another project.

I wanted to pair the checked fabric with a thicker one since it’s a loose weave and the pillowcase did the trick. Lots of topstitching on the handles and a divided inside pocket finished this bag off.

christinecheckedtoteA

The boyfriend laughed when he saw how large this bag is, but it’s working out for Christine.

christine tote bag in action

She’s been making some great projects lately!

I made her son a bib since his birthday was pretty recent too. I’ve intended to make so many things for him since he was born a year ago, but I really haven’t gotten around to it. *guilty friend syndrome*

levibibA

I made this reversible toddler bib pattern using some plaid fabric from the same acquired stash as the checkered fabric. Levi just turned one but he is already toddler-sized.

My last birthday present in this round-up is for Barret’s sister. He picked out the fabric, and I made the apron from one of my go-to patterns. After I made an apron for Barret’s mom last year, Casey mentioned that she wanted an apron. I kept that though in the back of my mind and it took several months almost a year, but her birthday was the catalyst I needed to make it happen. (Even then I almost waited until this Christmas to finish it, but Barret kept nudging.)

caseyapron

The prepackaged bias tape matched perfectly, as did a button from my stash.

caseyapron04

I really like the full skirt of this apron pattern. It adds something special to a very practical garment.

I’ll be off to the mailbox tomorrow to send my tote for the swap (luckily it’s not going far) and the sailboat pouch to my giveaway winner. (Congrats to TheFamilyClass!)

I’m hoping things are slowing down a little so I’ll have a chance to post more regularly. I’ve been working against some deadlines and was out of town for a conference last week.

One thought on “birthday totes, bibs, and aprons

Leave a Reply

