reusable lunch bag and snack pouch

I got three pieces of plastic fabric (vinyl maybe?) at a yard sale in the spring, and have been wanting to make lunch bags since then. My friend Crystal was coming to visit, so I kicked it into gear and made the lunch bag I’d been intending to make her for the last several months.

lunchnsnack_bags01A

I cut out the fabric a few months ago and had my mom buy me a non-stick sewing machine foot, but still hadn’t sat down at the machine to sew the bag. Once I did, it took me hardly any time at all. I pinked the edges before I started sewing so the inside would look good.

I combined two tutorials to get the look I wanted: this one from Skip to my Lou for the body of the bag and this one for the button closure.

lunchnsnack_bags02A

I’d thought to use ribbon for the closure initially, but then I found the second tutorial which uses a much more functional piece of elastic.

lunchnsnack_bags03A

The giant button was taken off a sweater I unraveled for yarn.

While I had the non-stick foot on the machine, I tried my hand at making a snack pouch. I used construction method from this tutorial, but wanted the green gingham showing on the inside and the outside so I improvised a bit and added a lining.

Here’s how it came out.

lunchnsnack_bags04A

I folded the edges under to reinforce them and hide the unevenness that comes from sewing layers of plastic fabric. The sides were pinked because I didn’t want them getting to bulky with layers turned under.

I used a fun zigzag stitch on the top flap and closed the pouch with velcro. I don’t know if it will hold a lot, but it should manage some snacks.

lunchnsnack_bags06A

So here it is, the matched set.

lunchnsnack_bags05A

Crystal said she’s been eating lunch at the park lately and taking her lunch in plastic shopping bags, so now she can carry her lunch in style!

P.S. It’s a beautiful fall day today, and it’s my birthday 🙂 *shameless self-promotion*

I’ve got several birthdays coming up that I plan to sew presents for, so that’s what will be coming next!

2 thoughts on “reusable lunch bag and snack pouch

Leave a Reply

