yellow striped tote

Yes, it’s another tote. (I can’t help it! They are the perfect quick gift.)

I’m a big fan of this one that I made for Barret’s mom. (Barret is the boyfriend’s real name.) It’s made from yard sale fabric (of course) and the colors are great for summer.

yellowstripedtote03A

The fabric I had wasn’t wide enough to make the tote as wide as I wanted, so I took a horizontal striped piece and flipped it to add some extra width with vertical stripes. I like how the stripes run perpendicular to each other.

For the lining I used a pale yellow thrift store sheet. I added a colorful pocket made from a couple of Alegria Bouquet charm squares that I had left over from my sewing machine mat project.

yellowstripedtote01A

I used white cotton webbing from Hobby Lobby for the handles. It gave it the clean summery look I was going for.

This tote has been adorning a doorknob in my craft room for the last few weeks. I finished the tote shortly after Sherry’s birthday, but didn’t get a chance to give it to her until the other day. She’s in town watching HD (a.k.a. the nephew) for the week while his mom transitions back to work. That kid is going to be three months old before long! And I think he will need a three-month-old birthday present. 🙂

Up next: I took a break from totes and finished that romper for Emma!

7 thoughts on “yellow striped tote

Leave a Reply

