crochet flashback to 2009

Last weekend I went on a scrapbooking weekend with my mom. It was a blast, as it always is hanging out with her. (And I bought my first roll of washi tape! The pattern is gray chevrons.)

I was going through my photos from the last few years in preparation and found several crochet projects I’d forgotten about from the pre-blog days. I didn’t get back into sewing until about two years ago, but have been crocheting regularly for almost a decade. Here’s some of what you would have seen if I was blogging in 2009.

For the first part of the year I was living in Central Illinois. There’s nothing like Central Illinois in the winter, especially when you’ve just come back from a semester in Costa Rica…

I made up the pattern for this doll pillow and blanket (they’re just rectangles) and sent it to my cousin. I stuffed the pillow with shopping bags because I was too cheap to buy actual stuffing. Luckily, dolls aren’t picky.

The boredom of my crappy apartment and the cold and snow and general meh of where I was living got me into being creative. Why else would one crochet an octopus?

A million cuter crochet octopus patterns have since taken the place of this one, but I think he turned out okay. This was made for my godchild.

And further boredom led me to crochet this.

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? This is a Nannerpuss. He appeared and had his heyday in the Denny’s breakfast commercial.

My brother and his then girlfriend (now wife) were quite fond of the commercial and I made them each a Nannerpuss. While Matt did question my sanity a little when I sent this to him, he also got a kick out of it.

I moved to Alabama mid-year and kept up the crocheting to unwind in the evenings. Some of these are from 2010.

2009crochet_potholderA

A potholder in colorful cotton for my mom’s friend who has shipped me countless boxes over the years. I think I made a set of other kitchen items that went with it, dishcloths, etc.

2009crochet_basketA

a tote bag/purse for my cousin made with Caron Simply Soft Yarn.

crochetcandyA

I crocheted some Halloween candy for my mom to display in a basket. Both patterns are from Lion Brand, pinwheel candy and candy corn.

2009crochet_boleroA

Bolero pattern using Lion Brand Homespun in Barrington. I lost the pattern, but it was basically just a rectangle sewn together with ribbing added at the sleeves.

crochetcardiganA

And yet another lost cardigan pattern. This was the last thing I was working on before the fire.

Most of these patterns were lost in the 2010 apartment fire debacle and a few of the items, like the sweaters, were too. Thankfully I’d sent off a lot of the projects I’d made during those years, including the queen-sized bed afghan my brother requested. I need to dig up some photos of that and assemble post with all the afghans I’ve made over the years.

A lot has been going on IRL lately and I’ve gone off blogging almost daily, like I was at the beginning of the summer, and taking photos of the things I’m finishing (more things for Emma and Henry and a pair of backpacks) but I’m still being crafty so there will be lots to post once I get back into it.

Thanks to everyone who stopped by and commented on my last post! I’ve got a backlog of projects that didn’t turn out as envisioned and plan to share them soon, so it was nice to get encouragement from everyone and talk about when things don’t turn out as you had hoped.

Leave a Reply

