denim shirt redo

I got this denim shirt for a quarter at my $0.25 yard sale bonanza.

metal_denimshirtredo01A

The main issues with the original shirt were: bulky epaulets, too snug to button up all the way, and weird matching distressing on the pockets.

denimshirt_dislikesA

I’d already taken care of the pocket situation in the middle pic.

I’ve been really getting into Refashion Runway so I wanted to have a sew-along for week two’s denim theme. I’d already started seam ripping this shirt, so it was a great project to make for this week.

I used this as my inspiration, but didn’t want a lace back.

I removed the back, taking the buttons for the tabs on the shoulders with it. There was a lot of seam ripping going on.

metal_denimshirtredo05A

shirt chaps? I removed the sleeves too, but reattached them later.

I used the shirt back as a pattern for my contrast fabric, but added extra width to fix the fit problem.

metal_denimshirtredo06A

bye bye bulky buttons! (see top)

I had a hard time deciding what fabric I wanted for the back. I’d originally tried this pink floral, but ended up using it for a toddler sundress. The fabric I used to lengthen this skirt wasn’t wide enough and I didn’t want a seam running down the middle. The boyfriend was against all florals, and in the end I agreed. (Let it be noted that he only gives his opinion when asked!)

metal_denimshirtredo07A

I set out all my potential fabrics with the front of the shirt, and it turned into a cat lounge in less than five minutes.

I do like the yellow gingham, but it’s quite sheer and I wasn’t going for a shirt I’d have to layer.

After the red and blue plaid was selected (yard sale fabric of course) and the back was cut, I got to work putting this shirt back together. I sewed the back on at the sides and collar; reattached the sleeves; nipped and tuck for fit; made new plaid pockets; and sewed on new buttons from my stash.

shirtredo_onhangerA

The plaid comes over the shoulders a little in the front because I removed those tabs, and I like how you can see a peek of it to tie it into the front pockets. Here it is on.

denimshirtredo_onA

It buttons up! I’ve removed some of those bulky metal buttons on the pockets and top, and added color and pattern with the plaid. This might be more of a summer-into-fall shirt as it’s a bit woodsy and rustic.

(Only two items left to refashion from that original yard sale post!)

For other denim refashions, you can see the tank I made from a lightweight denim shirt (wearing it today!) and my recent mom jeans turned capris.

14 thoughts on “denim shirt redo

  1. What a great refashion! I am working on a denim refashion this week and hope to have it up on my blog sometime this weekend. Great job – I hope to see more!

  2. Very cute! I have yet to add a denim shirt to my wardrobe. I know……..so behind the times, huh? Lol. Your upgrade is great. It was certainly a steal at $.25. Thanks for stopping by my space and commenting!

    • I didn’t get a denim shirt til last fall and it took me a while to figure out how to wear it even after I got it! You definitely can’t argue with adding a second one for only $0.25 though 🙂

      I really like your blog!

Leave a Reply

