tops for emma

One day while thrifting in Alabama, I found a handmade navy wrap skirt with green hippos printed on it. I’d recently seen this hippo dress at Cation Designs and it inspired me to scoop it up. I’d planned to make a simple tank top from it for at least a year, but decided a hippo top for Emma would be cuter and get more wear. I used the free toddler swing tank pattern from true bias, but cut the tank to keep the original hem of the skirt. emmahippotank01A The skirt had a hand-stitched vintage hem, but I tore it out and sewed it on the machine for looks and toddler durability.

emmahippotank02A

hand-stitched

emmahippotank03A

machine-stitched

The pattern was easy to follow. I didn’t cut the back as two pieces so I stitched the lower part along the seamline, pressed the extra to the side, and topstitched it down.

emmahippotank04A

I like how the hippo peeks out of this seam.

Then I cut on the fold at the top where the button attaches and followed the directions to finish the edges.

emmahippotank06A

I found the perfect button in my stash for this top!

emmahippotank05A I used store-bought bias tape to finish the edges, and it came out clean and simple. Plus I still have plenty of hippo fabric left for other projects. On to the second top! I was checking out the Pleated Penny pattern over at Shwin&Shwin when I discovered the free Black Bird Tunic. I was printing it out minutes later and sewed it up quickly. I used this recently acquired yard sale fabric to make up the shirt, and a large red button from my stash. A scrap of red broadcloth was perfect for the pocket. blackbirdtunicA If I was making it again, I’d move the pocket to the other side to balance out the button, but I’d already sewed two rounds of topstitching on the pocket when I put the button on and realized all the red was on one side.

emma2ndbdayA

Here’s the whole lot together: the tops, popover sundress, stuffed owl and bucket hat. emtotalpackageA Both tops look super cute on Emma. 😀 (I need to remember to enlarge the armholes in my next projects for her.) emmagifts01 My aunt said she put her new clothes on right over her pajamas when she opened the package! And then she sent me proof!

emmagifts02

new owl, hat, and top! and check out those cute elephant PJs! (though I didn’t make those.)

She now sleeps with the stuffed owl I made her AND she took it to sh0w-and-tell, so it’s a win all around. Her birthday present was a month late and took four blog posts to cover it all, but I’ve finally wrapped it up (though I do have a couple more things in the works for her). The vintage curtain bag giveaway, a recent Goodwill trip, and some things I made for me will be appearing next!

5 thoughts on “tops for emma

  1. handmadebymrsh says:

    Those hippos are so cute!! And I love the red button on the little tunic. She looks so adorable in those clothes you’ve made for her 🙂

  2. creative pixie says:

    You’ve made some beautiful little tops. I especially like the top with the red button, I might use that as my inspiration for a future project. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

