scallop totes

I feel like I’m using the phrase “stash busting” in every post, but I guess that’s good because I’m keeping with my goals.

I was looking for something on See Kate Sew (possibly the envelope clutch?) and found this scallop tote. I had it printed and started cutting my scallops immediately out of pieces from my sheet stash.

scalloptote03A

yellow and blue

scalloptote01A

blue/green/turquoise

There was a bit of color mixing and matching to come up with the right combos. I was going to just make one bag, but these sets of fabric combinations talked me into making two. Plus it’s twice the stash busting, right?

These fabrics have appeared in lots of different projects over time as sweater bag linings, circle skirts, sleep shorts, half and full aprons, baby dresses, etc. Some of the sheets are finally running out, like the blue gingham, but others will be going for quite some time. I cut up the infinity scarves I made from sheets (and never wore because they didn’t lay right) to get the solid turquoise and the yellow dotted fabric.

scalloptote02A

before getting the chop. you can see how it’s a bit too stiff for a scarf.

Sewing and trimming and turning and pressing fourteen rows of scallops was a bit of a chore. While I liked the results, I don’t see this becoming a go-to pattern for me because it’s rather time consuming.

scalloptote_by01A

But finally my totes were done. I used broadcloth for the outside of the blue and yellow bag and a light blue and green quilting cotton remnant for the other and added thin batting to both to give them a little more weight.

scalloptote04A

scalloptote_by02A

So then I had two totes full of stash busting goodness, but what to do with them? As much as I liked the look, I knew they weren’t my style and I wouldn’t carry them around much.

I sent a picture to my mom when I was done just to show off my cute new project. She really liked them and, since I was going to see her in a few weeks, I thought the blue/green/turquoise would be a great surprise Mother’s Day present.

scalloptote06A

on our scrapbooking weekend retreat. she’d already filled the bag up moments after getting it.
seeing her was wonderful of course and I hadn’t scrapbooked in months. always a crafty get-together with my mom!

She agreed. 🙂

But I still had the other bag. It was made with vintage sheets so I thought of Heather over at The Vintage Sheet Blog.

scalloptote_by04A

giveaway glamour shots

scalloptote_by03A

I’d never done a giveaway before and thought her readers might appreciate a scalloped vintage sheet tote bag so I reached out and contacted her. She agreed and it was all worked out for the next weekend. I was a bit nervous, but a number of people participated and Karen is the winner! (I was worried no one would participate but I’m glad my bag is off to a good home!) I enjoyed looking at all the lovely projects that were linked up and if vintage sheets are your thing you should check them out for yourself.

Thanks so much to Heather and The Vintage Sheet Blog for hosting my giveaway. I really enjoyed it!

I’m planning on trying out another giveaway (or two, depending on how it goes) soon, this time here on my blog. Hopefully I’ll get some participants! I’ll be posting it soon so stay tuned and thanks for stopping by.

6 thoughts on “scallop totes

  1. Those are some sweet bags, and I love that they carry memories of other sewn things in the fabrics you used! Props to you for persevering through all the fussy scallop sewing and pressing — I know I haven’t the patience, which might be why I never make anything with scallops…

Leave a Reply

