manly apron for my brother

I picked up this cream and blue striped canvas at a yard sale awhile back and knew it would make a great manly apron.

lakeshore_ys03A

the striped canvas is in the bottom left corner

I got fabric approval from my brother and selected my vintage 70s pattern for its size and simple style.

vintage70sapron01A

view 2, minus the giant pocket.

The apron was quite simple. I should have sewed the ties differently so I didn’t have to turn them inside out, but I’ll remember that for next time. The sides and bottom have a narrow hem, and the curved edges on top are finished with single fold bias tape.

andrew apronA

 

Thanks to the boyfriend for (reluctantly) modeling it on the balcony. My brother will have his own apartment at school next year and I’m envisioning him wearing this apron to grill on his own balcony, or just impress the ladies by owning an apron 😉 Happy #21 Andrew!

Leave a Reply

