baby shoes

My boyfriend will be an uncle in a few short months. The baby shower for his sister was last weekend and though I wasn’t able to go, I realized it was about time to get started on the baby items I’d planned to make.

Here are the first two: a tie bib like I’ve made before and some cloth shoes.

caseybabyshower01A

The shoes were a bit challenging, probably because I improvised on some of the directions. I used heavyweight interfacing and 1/4″ elastic instead of 1/8″ which made it harder for the back of the shoes to scrunch up. You can see a little bit of the felt I used for the sole in the photo above. I covered the bottom of the sole with the same fabric as the outer part.

My pattern came from here, but download it you will need the new link here.

caseybabyshower02A

Overall I liked the shoes, but working on something that tiny was a bit trying. I don’t see myself making baby shoes nearly as often as I’ve been making bibs.

The parents-to-be haven’t received part three yet, so I’ll save that for a later post. I have other grand plans to make things for this future nephew, but we’ll see how many of those plans become reality in the next few months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

