crocheted cable bracelets for She’s Worth It

Here are the other items I made for the She’s Worth It campaign. (Check out the pair of zipper pouches I made for the project here.) The campaign deals with an intense subject so if you want to find out more, visit The Train to Crazy for all the details. They are accepting bracelets and zipper pouches through the end of March.

I’ve seen tutorials for crocheting bracelets, but always thought they looked too homemade. Then I saw this tutorial for cabled crochet bracelets and had to try it. The tutorial starts in Dutch, but don’t let that scare you off; English can be found by scrolling down the page.

I’d only intended to make zipper pouches for She’s Worth It, but after finding this tutorial I saw a great opportunity to learn a new technique and make some bracelets for the project at the same time.

crochetcablebracelets01A

In order of difficulty from left to right. (1, 2, 3, 4)

I went through and made the bracelets in order of difficulty with relative ease until I got to the final bracelet. Number three is my favorite in this photo; I used a yellow cotton yarn so it had a very different feel. For the other bracelets I used leftover acrylic I Love This Yarn!

It wasn’t too hard to put the cable technique in action for the first four bracelets, though I realized later that I kept misreading the directions and doing bptrc instead of bpdc. Using treble crochets instead of doubles gave the bracelet a different look, but I don’t think the mistake was very obvious.

crochetcablebracelets04A

The blue one is the first level four bracelet where I accidentally did bptrc instead of bpdc. The green bracelet is a level four done as instructed.

The level five advanced braided cable bracelet threw me for a loop. I started over about three times before I went back and made another level four advanced small cable bracelet to boost my confidence. After making that second level four bracelet, I came back to the braided cables of level five and got the hang of it. Once I was in the flow of the stitches, I really liked how the bracelet turned out. (I feel like I say that about a lot of things I make, but hey, I do like most of them!)

crochetcablebracelets02A

I was glad I conquered level five because I really enjoy the braided look of all cables with no straight edges on the sides. In fact, I liked it so much that I’ll be sharing another project inspired by this bracelet pattern down the road.

crochetcablebracelets03A

Here’s the whole batch, ready to be sent off to these organizations via California. They are shown in order of difficulty from left to right with the blue and green level fours side by side. (1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5)

I didn’t realize crochet had its own version of cables and it was fun to learn something new. I’d like to try the knitted versions of these bracelets sometime when I’m feeling ambitious.

One thought on “crocheted cable bracelets for She’s Worth It

Leave a Reply

