purple squishy scarf

My last post featured a purple hat. This post is about another piece of purple winter wear: a knitted scarf I made for my friend Crystal.

crystalchina

I made her a matching set of purple hat, keyhole scarf, and fingerless gloves for her trip to China last year. In an effort to reduce my yarn stash, I decided to use my remaining skein of Lion Brand Homespun in Barrington to make her a full length fluffy scarf for winter in Chicago.

squishypurplescarf01A

I bought some size 13 needles for this project, which worked up relatively quickly. The pattern was easy and I was pleased with the “squishy” feel of the looser weave.

squishypurplescarf02A

It looks pretty good with my blue coat.

I used the Super Easy Squishy Scarf pattern (on Ravelry and on her blog). I’m sure I cast on more stitches, but I’m not sure how much wider I made it. (It was finished before Christmas, but putting the package together took a little while.) The width is nice to wrap around your neck and face when braving the Windy City winter.

I sent it to Crystal a few weeks ago as part of her winter survival package. 🙂 There will be a part two once I finish my other project for her!

Leave a Reply

