sweet pouch swap: mail from Wales

It had been a long day at work and I was about to go buy some chocolates and candy for my pouch swap partner. (I signed up for this pouch swap hosted by Roslyn at Sew Delicious.) That same afternoon I got this pink pouch in the mail. My first thought was I’ve already received all the random items I’d ordered online lately in the mail. Then I noticed the post mark.

pouchswap_received01A

I definitely hadn’t ordered anything from Wales! Then I started getting excited because I was pretty sure the package was from my pouch swap partner!

pouchswap_received02A

This was my first in-person experience with washi tape. Good stuff!

pouchswap_received04A

This chocolate bar made me certain that my package was from Wales. My partner mentions in her post about the pouch that the chocolate is a bit touristy, but since I’ve never been a tourist in Wales I was more than happy to receive it!

pouchswap_received05A

This was my first view of the pouch. I love the stitching down the back and found it funny that she chose the same stitch I used on the crochet hook roll I made for my grandmother. This was my first in-person look at linen as well.

And my pouch was filled with even more candy!

pouchswap_received07A

I’ve tried 1, 3, 5, and 6 so far and they have all been tasty! I haven’t tried much from Cadbury apart from the creme eggs (which should be coming to stores soon!!) so I’m enjoying some other Cadbury items.

pouchswap_received06A

And here’s the front. I love the colors, the buttons, the topstitching, all of it! My partner wrote that she hoped I didn’t mind her using patterned fabric. I’d said in my “about me” blurb that I wasn’t crazy about prints (which was something I only realized as I was writing my “about me” brief for the swap. Not all prints mind you, but I tend to stick more with solids and simple prints. Except when I fall for fabric like this.) But I love the colors of this print and the subtle dots and, most of all, the blue.

I was also introduced to Cath Kidston fabrics (featured on the front panel and the too cute zipper ends), which I’d never heard of before. I probably never would have chosen this fabric for myself, but that’s the fun of this type of exchange. And I also enjoyed reading about my partner’s process on her blog, which I found through the sweet pouch inspiration Pinterest board when I was scrolling through later that evening and recognized the photo of my pouch.

I’m so happy with everything I received and it tickles me to have something someone else made for me in my home. I can’t wait to sign up for another event like this! (I’m sending my pouch to England tomorrow and will post it up on the blog soon.)

4 thoughts on “sweet pouch swap: mail from Wales

  1. Glad you like it 🙂 It looks like it had a fairly bumpy journey if that chocolate is anything to go by with all it’s cracks! I hope you play a tune on your melody pop when you get there 🙂

  2. hi Sarah, I clicked across from your comment on our blog – so happy I could find you here, as I couldn’t reply to your comment by email as you are a ‘no reply blogger’. (I was too and didn’t realise until I changed it).

    Thanks so much for your comment on the sweet pouch I made for Ros’ swap. I’m in Australia, but buy pretty much all my fabric online from the USA – mainly Hawthorne Threads, Fat Quarter Shop, Fabricworm, Sew Mama Sew, Pink Castle but also quite a few on Etsy – but mainly Blije Olifantje, Miss Matatabi, Sew me a Song. I also love Spoonflower if I’m looking for something a little different.

    The pouch you got in the swap is so sweet, I love the stitching details and the buttons. Really pretty. And I love the stash of chocolates you got! I am posting my swap package off today, mine’s headed to the USA. take care, Catherine

    • Thank you for replying! I use a few different formats for comments so I’m not sure what happened there… I mailed my pouch off a few days ago so fingers crossed both of ours arrive at their intended destination!

      The pillows you just posted on your blog are amazeballs! I will have to check out your fabric sources for some fabulous colorful prints and make a fun project!

  3. I read about this pouch before and I am happy for you that you already got your. I can’t wait for mine pouch to come to my place. This time I sent out my pouch so early that now I have a lot of ideas how to improve my next pouch for swap. Just wanted to say that I think you got great pouch and great sweets. Both are really great 🙂

Leave a Reply

