faux fur cowl

I’m venturing into the world of fake fur. I bought 1/4 yard to make a fur cowl after seeing one at Adventures in Dressmaking and another version at Cotton & Curls.

I wanted to put my own spin on a fur cowl because I don’t like slipping things on over my head. I decided to add button closures so I could easily fasten it around my neck.

fauxfurcowl01A

It’s actually upside down in this photo, but this is the best shot of the lining.

I used a pale green satin remnant for the lining and some wooden toggles and leather jewelry cord as fasteners.

fauxfurcowl02A

My loops were slightly oversized so I tied an extra piece of leather cord on to slide near the button and keep it in place.

I attached and secured the leather loops while sewing one end of the cowl closed, and then sewed on the buttons. I moved the top button further over so the bottom would flare out a little bit and fit well with a coat.

fauxfurcowl03A

I was so glad I decided to tackle this project last weekend. It’s been in the teens and low 20s this week and this cowl has kept my neck toasty. I can even wear it over another scarf when I need to layer my outerwear.

fauxfurcowl05A

It’s a little tall, but I just fold the top down and it works out fine.

fauxfurcowl04A

I wasn’t sure I would get a lot of use out of it when I bought the faux fur a few months ago, but I picked the right weekend to make it! I’ve worn it several times already this week and even gotten a compliment or two. I do think it’s a little over the top, but I’ve been enjoying that it makes my simpler outfits and coats feel a bit more luxurious.

My next fake fur project will be a vest based on this vest I found on Chic Wish. Hopefully I’ll get it finished before the weather turns warmer.

One thought on “faux fur cowl

Leave a Reply

