2012 wrap-up: favorites revisited

This post might get long, but I’ve enjoyed looking back at what I’ve done the past year. I wrote 99 posts in 2012, averaging about 10 a month, since I started blogging in March. Sometimes all I think about are the things I want to get done instead of the things I’ve already finished, so reviewing my finished projects has renewed my sense of accomplishment. Here are some highlights from the past year:

I learned how to knit on both double-pointed and circular needles.

blueknithat

My first double-pointed needle project. I learned how to frog and completed a project I love. It deserves a better photo…

crystalsnood1A

This twisted snood was made on circular needles that my friend Laura gave me after she realized knitting didn’t fit into her life. I was slacking on the photography at the beginning of the year…

I attempted to sell crafts at a local store. The button bracelet project was a failure: my roommate liked hers and a co-worker bought one, but business never took off. I did get an awesome stash of buttons out of the project so it was a winner for me.

greenbbA

The bracelet I made for my former roommate Kendra out of her grandmother’s buttons.

I overcame my fear of zippers and made several clutches for friends.

greenclutchA

This one I kept for myself. I love the colors together.

My confidence in making a zippered clutch led me to make this embroidered denim clutch. This is one of my favorites of 2012 for sure.

embroidereddenimpouch01_sdA

Seriously, I love this thing. Remember to do more embroidery in 2013!

I started refashioning and ended up with a few keepers.

I also made flared jeans straight, saved a torn coatmodernized an old shirt of my mom’s, and turned a couple of dresses into skirts.

I also made and refashioned some things that did not work out.

I sewed dresses and aprons for charity and started a quilt that I hope to finish soon for another good cause.

babypillowcasedresses01A

These pillowcase dresses went to Little Dresses for Africa.

haitiaprons

These aprons went to Haiti as part of Craft Hope. I used pieces from my stash and made up the “patterns” as I went along. They all turned out better than expected and I hope their recipients enjoyed them.

I made some things for the small members of my extended family.

toolbelt01A

A tool belt for my godchild Anthony.

shirreddress03A

An embroidered skirt was refashioned into a dress for my cousin Emma.

And I even used some real patterns with non-thrifted fabric. Making more “real” items is one of my 2013 goals.

bluecoat03_sdA

I’m quite proud of this sweatshirt jacket.

colorfulshirt01_sdA

This shirt had some placket issues, but I love the fabric and most of the details turned out great.

And that’s all for 2012! (except for the things I finished last year, but haven’t posted yet…) I’ve been working on my 2013 goals and am excited to get that post together next.

4 thoughts on “2012 wrap-up: favorites revisited

Leave a Reply

