hat season

It’s hat season! Last year, pre-blog, my sewing machine had some issues. I went full on into crochet (with a little bit of knitting). I made a crazy amount of hats, so many in fact, that I don’t even remember all the ones I made.

Here are the ones I have pictures of that haven’t appeared on the blog already. Pardon the quality on some of these; many are phone photos. I’m looking through my binder of printed crochet patterns as I write this and will try my best to match hats to patterns.

This first one is a hat I made for my friend Crystal. I used this hat pattern from Lion Brand. The rainbow variegations turned out interesting on this hat as they ended up mostly on one side.

This hat is the Cheri Hat pattern, found here on Ravelry. My aunt says this is currently Emma’s favorite hat and she’s been getting lots of compliments when she wears it out! I didn’t remember I made this one until I saw this photo from last weekend. I really like the yarn I used, but I don’t remember what it was.

This hat wasn’t my favorite. I wanted to use up the rest of the yarn from the previous hat, and it turned out too small, plus the border looked weird. I used this Bernat pattern; it comes in a preemie size up to 18 months. I think it would have looked better if I had some more yarn.

Here’s the last Emma hat. I added some rounded ears to this pattern.

She wasn’t big on hats last year. Like the blanket? Check out how I made it.

I used the Maia’s Hat pattern you just saw a few more times for little ones. The sizes go from newborn to all the way up to adult making it very versatile.

I made this version for my friend Crystal’s nephew, who shares the name Jackson with my cat! She was having trouble with sizes when she crocheted so I whipped one up in my hat-making frenzy.

same hat, same yarn (Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn! in green tweed). I added pointy ears to this hat for my friend Christine’s nephew Jace.

I think this hat for Christine was made with a half-double or double crochet beanie pattern and a reverse single crochet border, but I’m really not sure. The yarn is Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn! in lime green. You could try the single crochet beanie pattern I made a few times. Pardon the blown out Photo Booth photo from my computer.

This hat is a pattern of my own creation using yarn my mom bought for me on a trip to Vermont. It is so soft and luxurious. I used a bobble stitch on top and a ribbed edge on bottom. I wrote the pattern down on a post-it that maybe I’ll find someday.

This is one of my favorite things I’ve made ever. I took on knitting in the round with double-pointed needles and won! I also screwed up and managed to rip out the knitting and fix my mistake. (Note: the “in total” measurements means the whole hat, including the border; I measured from the border up adding a few extra inches to my hat.) I used Lion Brand Jiffy yarn in Navy and found the perfect button while craft store shopping with my family on Black Friday last year. Here’s the pattern on a blog and Ravelry.

I do have a few more hats I made for myself that I haven’t photographed yet. Maybe I can get it together and get pictures of those for a future blog post. I’ve already thought of a number of scarves and hats I made and sent to friends and relatives last year that I never photographed. If you still haven’t had enough of last year’s hats, check these out.

I’m excited that I’ve already had a chance to wear some of my many pairs of fingerless gloves and scarves this year. Last year was so mild I didn’t even get much use out of my winter coats, let alone scarves and hats.

Leave a Reply

