my first Kentucky yard sale

Going to yard sales and thrift stores used to be my main source of entertainment. I lived in a small town in Alabama with not a lot to do and not a lot of money to spend. I was befriend by a bargain queen and her family who are yard sales experts and fanatics and my die was cast. I had a blast running around with them, and many memorable Saturday mornings.

Since I’ve moved to Kentucky, I haven’t been to one yard sale and the thrift stores I’ve found so far are pricey. I’m sorry, but I’m not paying $16-22 for jeans someone wore already… (I have had some luck at a few Goodwills, but even there I pay more there than I paid at my favorite stores back in Bama.)

I’ve seen the yard sale signs, but it’s no fun without my crew and I’m not familiar with the neighborhoods in the significantly larger city where I live in now. The boyfriend is unwilling to stop at random places when we are out on errands, not that I blame him, and I live in a much smaller place that can’t absorb my random purchases easily. All that being said, guess what I found today?

I was on my way to a friend’s house for a photo party and while driving through her neighborhood I saw a bunch of cars and an overflowing garage with items all down the driveway. Of course I stopped. It was too perfect. I picked out a few things that I knew I would use and had space for, and the woman charged me five dollars for the pile. Here’s what I got.

This first item was my most frivolous purchase. I literally have no surfaces to put things on, so this lantern (which came complete with nice candle) is hanging out on the porch. I think I had to have it because of the color.

I did a little digging and found the spools of ribbon and sequins at the bottom of a bag of Sunday school craft supplies. I have an idea for the sequins that I’m pretty excited about. I’d just run out of glue sticks so I tossed one of those in my pile. They’re useful for pasting scrapbook paper on old oatmeal containers and notebooks to make them pretty.

The envelopes were a good find because those things are expensive. I ran out of stationary and have been using my massive stash of small cut scrapbook paper to make cards but they need certain envelopes to fit them. These envelopes would have cost $10! I can’t believe how much some office supplies cost. Every time I got into Office Depot to buy envelopes or binder dividers I end up passing them by because of the outrageous prices.

The Pyrex bowl was my most practical find. I know I’ll be using it all the time when I’m cooking. The shower hooks are solid metal and will be playing a role in a project that has been at a standstill for years in my old room at my parents’ house.

pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

I’m not sure what to call this, but this large rectangle of fabric with a beach scene in neon green and black is one of the most unique things I’ve found thrifting. The phrase is beyond my Google ability but I believe it is in Malagasy because the fabric says made in Madagascar.  I was thinking of making it into a beach cover-up, but I might find a way to use it whole because it’s pretty darn cool.

I picked up this last item because I read this post the other day on Cation Designs. She used fleece to make a super-cute toggle coat. This fleece blanket is a pretty good quality so maybe it will become a jacket?

So that’s my $5 haul. I got an interesting mix. I think my favorite find might be the sequins and I’m hoping my idea for them turns out well. I don’t think I’ll have too many more garage sales in my near future, but I enjoyed finding the one today. I have found some things I like at Goodwill, but overall I’m trying to keep my new purchases to a minimum and not buy things that need major refashions since I have a long list of projects I want to complete.

Leave a Reply

