jungle print shirt

I finally started photographing the items that I’ve finished over the last couple months. This shirt is one of my favorite makes so far.

I got this fabric towards the end of 2011 on a Jo-Ann’s trip with my mom and picked up New Look 6110 to go with it (though my pattern is labeled 0140). The fabric was so slippery and seemingly fragile and way too pretty to cut, so it took me a few months to work up the nerve. Even after I cut it, it took me a little while to get around to sewing it, all the while worrying that it would fray into oblivion.

The pattern went together quickly and I’ll definitely be using it again. (I opted for view E.) I had some issues with attaching the placket where the two sides join together that I can hopefully resolve next time. I also had to gather more than it said to in some areas so the pieces fit. The pattern recommends using French seams, which I did all the way through, and I’m very happy with the results.

The “crazy” print covers up some flaws that might be more visible on a plain colored shirt. The fit is great and my favorite part is the sleeve construction. I also like how one of the sleeves ended up with blue stripes on it.

It’s a breezy top that doesn’t look overly baggy and is easy to wear. And here I am modeling it with an adorable accessory.

It’s Emma!

I visited my parents a few weeks ago, and my aunt and uncle and Emma were there visiting at the same time. Thanks to my uncle/her father for taking these pictures.

4 thoughts on “jungle print shirt

  1. I love it!! You did a great job! Let me tell ya that neckline was a struggle and up close you can see the imperfections in mine. I need to make another one because I’ve worn mine so much that it’s shrunk and now looks like view E instead of view b. lol

Leave a Reply

