flowered birthday tote

I know lots of people with birthday in September (including me!) and one of them just happens to be my sister-in-law, Jessica. I wanted to make her a girly tote bag as a present.

I had a home dec weight remnant from Hobby Lobby that looked much more brown than green while rolled up. I kept forgetting it had a green background; it was prettier than I remembered. The scale of the flowers worked well on this tote.

This side has a pink flower and the other side features a white flower.

I used the same technique that I used to make this tote bag, except I used cotton webbing for the handles instead of making them myself. I considered doing another line of topstitching at the very top to keep the handles in line, but they stood up well enough without the additional stitching.

Here’s a peek at the inside. French seams again, and I did the top the same way.

I have another home dec remnant of gray chevrons on cream to make a tote for myself, but I need to buy some more cotton webbing for the straps.

I hope Jess likes her birthday present!

3 thoughts on “flowered birthday tote

Leave a Reply

