yard sale finds

So as I mentioned in my summer tote post, I found some fabric at a yard sale over the weekend. But that’s not all I found. I think my yard sale haul on Saturday was one of the biggest since I started going to yard sales a few years ago.

I had a great time with the yard sale crew, Natalie, her Aunt Angie and her cousin Sharalene, as always. As I mentioned before, Natalie’s new job means she can get up and go Saturday mornings. But now onto the finds!

This vintage Samsonite suitcase was in great condition. It almost looks tie-dyed. It was at the first sale I stopped at for $1. I think I’m going to use it for storage for fabric or off-season clothing.

This colorful belt would be great as a strap for a summer satchel. It was less than $1.

I couldn’t pass up these vintage pictures. I’m not totally sold on the one on the left but for $0.50 I took it. The two floral paintings need a little cleaning up but the woman selling them only wanted $0.75 for the pair! I see them nicely displayed in my craft space.

Harvey enjoys sniffing everything I bring back from yard sales or thrift stores.

We stopped briefly at a yard sale where all the clothes were on circular metal racks with price tags of $3 or $5 on them. A lot of them were older clothes, but I picked up a couple items I liked that weren’t priced. When I asked the cashier how much, she said $1 each. I got this giant horse tote bag because it was in great shape and was one of the most unique items I’d seen around. (I also got a full-length Harvé Benard denim dress that will be featured in a later post because it looks much better on me than just a hanger.)

It turns out this bag is a Marimekko. This doesn’t mean a whole lot to me, but I liked the other bags on their site and their line of fabrics after I Googled them to find out who they were. Since I haven’t heard of them, and doubt most people living in my area have, I’m assuming this bag isn’t a fake like the Kate Spade I got for $1.

Bonus find: there was a shiny silver thing in the bottom of the bag, which I assumed was some kind of keychain. Turns out it was a pair of small sewing scissors shaped like a bird. I needed some new sewing scissors anyway, and these were in as good of shape as the bag.

I also got a velvety cushion for Jackson to nap on.

And a brand-new, still-in-the-packaging mini cupcake maker for $3.

The boyfriend and I have tried it out and successfully made tiny delicious desserts. The leftovers were sure to be equally as delicious, until Jackson attacked the plastic bag and tried to eat them…

I got a ton of other stuff too. Two denim skirts, a pair of shorts, some outfits and a tags-on stuffed elephant for Emma, three pairs of shoes (one pair is Steve Madden, another is new-looking Old Navy), four Old Navy men’s shirts to refashion ($1 a pop), some J.Crew tops, a vintage sheet still in the packaging, and so many other things I don’t even remember right now. The items in the photos were just the most interesting. I spent $30 total on everything.

I usually have a lot more luck at yard sales than thrift stores. Here are a couple of things I’ve found in my yard sale experience:

– People are more likely to give you a good deal than a thrift store that has all their items priced upfront.

– As far as clothing, I stick to brand names I know because I know what size I am and how they fit.

– I don’t spend too much on anything because there are no returns! If you like something, ask the price and keep walking around. If they want to get rid of it, they’ll often give you a lower price as you start to walk back to your car. If you can’t live without it, go back and pay the asking price.

2 thoughts on “yard sale finds

Leave a Reply

