simple summer tote

I’ve been whipping out a number of simple projects lately. The latest one was a tote bag I made over the weekend for my roommate.

My friend Natalie got a new job making her available for early morning Saturday yard sales. At one of the last ones we hit Saturday (and there were a ton!) I spotted this navy, white and orange striped fabric. I though it might be a piece of clothing, but it was just a large triangle of canvas-like fabric for approximately $0.50. After getting it home and in the wash, I enlisted the boyfriend and his calculus skills to figure out the best way to get two equal squares out of the isosceles right triangle and cut away.

The colors made me think of my roommate, an Auburn grad, and the fabric was the perfect weight for a summery tote. It was thick enough to be used without a lining, though I did French seams on the inside to give it a nice finish and avoid fraying.

I sewed the French seams on the sides and then boxed the corners. To keep fraying in check, I folded the top down once, stitched around, and folded it down again.

I pulled out the topstitched apron ties my boyfriend rejected as too short for the handles of the bag. I’d finished the edges of the ties already, and tucked the ends up under the first edge before sewing that layer down. Now the ties are double secured, and look finished on the inside.

I kicked butt at stripe-matching on the one side. We won’t talk about the other side…

I made up my basic tote as I went along, but for those looking for a pattern I found this tote tutorial on The Purl Bee while I was catching up on my blogs in Google Reader this morning. I’ve taken the weekend off from the internet to get out and be crafty and am slowly slogging my way through 300 (!!!) posts today, and maybe tomorrow too as I’m sure that number will only be going up throughout the day.

4 thoughts on “simple summer tote

  1. This totally makes me wish I could sew – love the bold stripes!! Gotta love a good garage sale find!! Thanks so much for sharing this at the {what’s shakin’ link party} this week!!

Leave a Reply

