quick kid shorts

I made these shorts for Emma yesterday to go with the shirt I made her for her birthday. They took hardly any time and hardly any fabric. I liked the colors though the print was kind of plain, but I thought it would be a great sort of neutral for shorts. I used a pair of 24 month pants to trace for the shorts pattern so hopefully they’ll fit and I followed this basic tutorial for how to put them together.

Note: make sure to unfold the “pattern” pants when measuring the length of the elastic for the waist. My first attempt at the waistband would have been a tight fit on a doll, much less a one-year-old.

As I’ve mentioned before, there isn’t a big selection of fabric at Hobby Lobby. On the plus side, they have several collections of fabrics that compliment each other.

Here’s a closer shot of the fabrics on the shorts and the shirt.

And this shirt in its entirety.

Hopefully Emma won’t have outgrown the shirt already before the shorts get there!

Leave a Reply

