striped reversible bag

I spent last weekend at my friend Amanda’s house after a fairly long road trip. Since she so kindly offered to put me up, I decided to bring her something I made. I went back to what has already become one of my favorite bag patterns, this simple reversible bag tutorial from Very Purple Person, to whip up a bag for her. It took me just a few hours.

The turquoise textured fabric I found at the thrift store. It was a little more sheer for a thicker weave than I’d thought, but the lining stripes only show through a little bit.

The lining fabric was a remnant from Hobby Lobby. It wasn’t a fabric I would normally pick for myself, but this one jumped out at me. It’s an unusual combination of colors: gray, white, brown, and turquoise. It matched perfectly with the thrift store fabric for the outside.

I’ve been having good luck in the unintentional fabric matching area lately. Maybe I’m just attracted to the same colors over and over so they end up going together?

Here is another shot of the bag where you can see the inside and outside fabrics together.

I was very satisfied with how the project turned out and Amanda was both surprised and happy with her bag.

(If you want to check out another bag I made from this pattern using a thrifted shirt for fabric, click here.)

To me, the satisfaction of making something is knowing that you took a one-dimensional piece of fabric and turned it into a usable object with more value. If someone else appreciates that object, the satisfaction is even greater.

An added bonus is that everything I make helps me pare down my fabric stash, giving me room for more eye-catching fabric I just have to have. Sharing the story and the finished pictures here on the blog is quickly becoming part of that finished project satisfaction.

But the best part was Amanda and I had a fun weekend! Hopefully I’ll get to do it again soon.

6 thoughts on “striped reversible bag

  1. Sherry says:

    Sarah, I love your craft blog! I think you did a fabulous job matching colors. Could you use the bag as a reversible? I think the lining is really pretty. It makes me think of the beach, which is always a happy thought. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ve been happy with how my color combos have worked out lately. The bag could absolutely be reversible. Both sides are the same so all you’d need to do is flip it.

      These bags are definitely beach worthy. Hopefully I’ll get to try them out there this summer!

Leave a Reply

