twisted snood

In keeping with my goal of knitting more things, I made this twisted cowl from Why Not Make It? for my friend Crystal. She lives in Chicago, so she needed wintery things far more than I did these last few months. I think I may have twisted mine twice which is why it looks like this.

It was easy and kind of fun to work up. This was my first time working with circular needles, and I will definitely do it again. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it might be. I lost track of what stitch I was on a number of times (which is why I don’t knit more) but overall I was pleased with how it turned out. I think the twists are more visible in this photo here. The yarn is Lion Brand Homespun.

Crystal liked it, though she told me she tried to untwist for awhile when she first got it before figuring out that’s how it was supposed to look.

I’m slowly posting my backlog of winter projects though it’s 80 degrees outside. But I’ll be interspersing spring/summer posts as I work on more warmer weather items. I made a breezy pillowcase dress the other night (from an actual rummage sale pillowcase!), so hopefully I’ll get some pictures and be posting that on here soon.

Other notes:

– Yes, I am a professional photographer in my day job. I know most of the pictures on this blog so far may not convince you of this, but my goal is that going forward is to take better pictures of my projects to post on here. My “real” photos are at sarahdudik.com.

– Shout out to Laura, who designed the “Photosarah Crafts” header that you see on the top of this blog. I’m quite jazzed about it.

Leave a Reply

