baby pillowcase dresses

These dresses have been awhile in the making. I found this post about Magaret Andrade’s project with Little Dresses for Africa on Craftiness is not Optional and decided to make a couple of dresses to send. (For more information about her project, you can contact her at margaretandrade@hotmail.com.)

Many of the dresses they receive are pillowcase-sized so if you are looking to make a needed size, I’d suggest a baby dress or a dress for a teen. I lined my dress by making it two layers because the pattern was on a white background and I didn’t want it to be see through.

 

I cut these two dresses out weeks ago, but hit a wall when I realized I was out of double fold bias tape. They went back on the shelf for a while I was working on some other projects. The fabric is the same fabric I used in my apron project, a thrifted bedsheet. In the meantime, I found a rummage sale skirt I decided to dismantle. The skirt, which will hopefully be appearing as something else on here soon, had a lot going on, including this trim.

I decided to remove the trim from the skirt and use it on the dress instead. The other dress looked too plain compared to the trimmed dress so I sewed a strip of white fabric into a tube, turned it, and pressed it and then attached the fabric tube to the bottom to add a little polish. I used double fold bias tape on the armholes and used a thin tube of fabric folded in half and topstitched for the ties.

If you aren’t sure what size to make your dress, you can check out the link here. There’s also some great ideas for different variations of pillowcase dresses over on The Mother Huddle.

Edit: I rediscovered the link to the tutorial I followed when I was flipping through bookmarks on my Kindle. I used the baby pillowcase dress tutorial on Prudent Baby in the 0-3 months size.

I’m envisioning these dresses going to sisters, or little best friends. They’ll go out in the mail this week, along with another present for a special little girl (my next post!).

4 thoughts on “baby pillowcase dresses

  1. So cute. I think that it is a great idea to make dresses for the smaller girls. I usually just make the pillowcase size but some of the girls are drowning in big dresses. Thanks for playing in the Vintage Sheet Blog Link Up Party.

Leave a Reply

